Latest information on entry to Hungary – Travel with D type visa

August 10th, 2020

Latest information on entry to Hungary – Travel with D type visa

According to Government Decree 341/2020. (VII. 12.), foreign students travelling to Hungary with long-stay „D” type visas are treated in the same way as Hungarian citizens. On this basis, foreign citizens who are granted D-type visa can enter Hungary without submitting a special request prior to their arrival, under the conditions that apply to the category of the country where they come from.

UPDATE: You can find the latest information about regulations related to entering Hungary here!

Countries are classified into “red”, “yellow” and “green” categories, based on the severity of the COVID situation in each. Foreign nationals coming from “green” countries can enter the territory of Hungary without any restriction. Those coming from a “yellow” or “red” country will be subjected to health checks at the border and must be quarantined for 14 days. An exception to this is if they can credibly show two negative coronavirus tests 48 hours apart in the previous 5 days. A foreign citizen coming from a “yellow” country may be released from quarantine after the first negative coronavirus test, but if coming from a “red” country, two negative tests are required.

Categories and countries (as of August 5, 2020):

“Red” Countries: Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of Belarus, Republic of Kosovo, Republic of Northern Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Ukraine, all African countries, all Asian countries, except for Japan, the People’s Republic of China, and South Korea, all countries belonging to the Australian continent, and all American countries except Canada and the United States.

“Yellow” Countries: Bulgaria, United Kingdom, Norway, Russian Federation, Romania, Republic of Serbia, Kingdom of Sweden, Japan, People’s Republic of China, United States of America, Canada, and Spain.

“Green” Countries: Countries that did not receive a yellow or red classification are green. Among the countries participating in the Stipendium Hungaricum programme, this list includes the Republic of Korea only.